News From The Kindness School

Hello, All

As I mentioned yesterday, I heard from Andy Smallman who, along with his wife Melinda Shaw, is the founder and director of the Puget Sound Community School, aka: “The Kindness School.” I was quite pleased to learn that Andy found our post about the school himself and that he is also an active WordPress blogger (kindliving). You can also read a short bio of this kindness and education innovator on the school’s site (http://pscs.org/profiles/andy-smallman/).

I let Andy know that we received a ton of feedback and praise about him, the kids, and the school. Here is Andy’s response:

NOTE: Don’t miss the part about the opportunity for us to join in, free of charge, online “Power of Kindness” classes offered by Andy. (I believe I did mention something about Continuing Ed.)  🙂

Hi Paul,

Thank you so much for posting the “Kindness School” video on your blog last week. I’ve been quite touched by the number of people who have been inspired by the video and by our school, Puget Sound Community School in Seattle. It’s interesting to note that we’ve focused on kindness and gratitude since the school was founded in 1994, but have really started getting attention for it in the last couple of years. I think that’s a very positive sign related to more and more people seeing the significance of kindness as opposed to it being a “fluffy” extra. For the students, I think all the attention has been a little surprising, given how kindness and gratitude are just so ingrained in the school culture. It’s not something “special” or “extra,” just part of what we do, you know?

Like I said, we’ve been offering opportunities to consider and expand on the concept of kindness since 1994, including online classes that are open to anyone in the world. I have a new class starting on April 8 called “The Power of Kindness” and would like to invite your readers to join. To learn more, including how to sign up, have them contact me at admin@kindliving.net. There is no cost to participate.

For people wanting to learn more about our school, I invite them to visit our website (http://www.pscs.org). And for those interested in learning more about my personal efforts about promoting kindness, please point them to my wife’s and my Kind Living project (http://kindliving.net).

Thanks again, Paul!

Most kindly,

Andy Smallman
Seattle, WA

Thank YOU, Andy. We wish you, the school, and your projects success and abundance. You exemplify what GYA—Give Yourself Away—is all about.

12 thoughts on “News From The Kindness School

  1. Thank you again for sharing this with us! I’m still excited that such a school exists!!! Yeah!!! I get so happy when I see people making a positive difference. 🙂 😉 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh, if there had only been something so intense and special like this when I was growing up! I think if there of this out there, it could change the world and the futures of soooooo many people. Thank you for doing what you are doing!

    Like

  3. “we’ve focused on kindness and gratitude since the school was founded in 1994, but have really started getting attention for it in the last couple of years. I think that’s a very positive sign related to more and more people seeing the significance of kindness as opposed to it being a ‘fluffy’ extra” –

    continuity of purpose, wonderful thing to see, best wishes to andy and his family and school 😉

    Like

Add Your Comment:

