A profound telling of a common practice.  ~Paul

Six Loose Cannons

Image

Since last Friday I have been serving coffee to mourners. Every single face that has come into view across the short span of my coffee counter since then is a different shade of grief. Each has been affected in a profound way by the most unthinkable of tragedies that recently played out in my community  just one mile away from the local coffee shop I have worked in over the past eleven years . Newtown is my town, I have lived here for over 12 years.

You see, coffee is the medium by which I connect to the canvas of my community’s landscape, a landscape that has been permanently altered. From the tear stained cheeks of high school cheerleaders to the far away stares of coffee shop regulars, they provide me with a frame of reference that, moving forward I will use to to gauge the emotional and spiritual temperature…

View original post 61 more words

Add Your Comment:

